Extreme Defensive 

Firearms Safety & Personal Protection Training

Due to High Volume of Calls Please Email us!

 

 

 

 

 

jj

 

 

 


 

Frequently Asked Questions


  1. What all does your CHL classes consist of?
    1. The State requires a new applicant class to be 4-6 hours of training. Classes begin at 9:00AM and run until 2:30PM and completed in one day. It includes Range Proficiency Examination, written test and the laws concerning use of force and Deadly force. We also add gun safety, safe storage, children and guns and scenario discussions.
  2.  Where are your classes held?
    1. Classes are held at various locations depending on the number of students registered. Once you register for a class we will notify you in advance as to what location the classroom portion will be held.
  3. What are the total fees involved for the class and the fees for the State?
    1. There are in fact two fees pertaining to the Texas CHL. First is the fee to us for the class. Then there is the Fee to the State. The Fee to the State without any proclamation is $140. Depending on your eligibility you may qualify for a discount. Ex. Senior citizen 60 or older $70, Honorable discharge from military $70. Requires that an applicant provide a copy of their DD-214 for their discharge.
  4. What if I don’t have a handgun?
    1. You can borrow one from a friend, you can even share a handgun with another student attending the class or we can provide you a semi-automatic handgun and the 50 rounds of ammunition you need for the range proficiency for an extra $40.00
  5. What is the minimum size caliber of gun can I use on the Range Proficiency Test?
    1. The minimum size as required by the Texas Department of Public safety is a .32 revolver or a .380 semi-automatic. Note: If a student qualifies with a revolver their license would only certify them to carry a revolver. If a student qualifies with a semi-automatic then the student would be certified to carry either the revolver or a semi-automatic.
  6. It’s been a while or I have never shot a handgun before, what is the range test like?
    1. The Range Proficiency test is actually quite simple. The state requires that each student demonstrate their ability to hit the target at various distances. The proficiency is made up of 20 rounds at 3 yards, 20 rounds at 7 yards and the final 10 rounds at 15 yards. Each round fired can be valued at 5 points with the highest score being a 250. The minimum score to pass is 175. A student has up to three times to qualify as per guidelines of the State.
  7. How do I register for a class?
    1. You can register online at www.MyTxCHL.com.